Ibex closes $87m secondaries fund as three continuation vehicles close unpriced
Among the week's secondaries closes, only Ibex's carried a disclosed dollar figure; Sun Capital's Anderson Global closed with no price, size or named lead buyer.
Ibex closed its second Israel-focused secondaries fund at $87 million, more than double the size of the predecessor vehicle, and among the secondaries closes PWD's tracking recorded for the week it was the only one carrying a disclosed dollar figure. Three continuation vehicles closed over the same stretch with no price on any of them, and one of those, Sun Capital's Anderson Global, came with no lead buyer named either.
The published number belongs to a manager running a single-country mandate on its second attempt at one, while the larger and more heavily negotiated structures beside it closed without saying what the assets were worth. Both of the week's secondaries closes involved a firm returning to the same format — Ibex's second Israel-focused fund, Sun Capital's second continuation vehicle of 2026 — though the two words measure different things, one a franchise and the other a calendar year.
Because the predecessor's size was not disclosed, the step-up cannot be converted into dollars, only into a direction. An allocator benchmarking that manager learns the franchise grew, not the level it grew from, and that is a narrower fact than it first sounds: a doubling off a small base and a doubling off a large one describe very different amounts of demand, while the reporting supports only the ratio.
What the reporting does supply about Ibex is the close, the size, the country focus and the fact that this is the manager's second such fund. It does not supply the portfolio, the investor base, the target return, or where the strategy sits inside secondaries, so the only comparable a reader can reach for is the predecessor vehicle, whose size was also not published.
One reading of a second fund closing above the first is that existing investors re-upped; with no investor base reported, that stays a reading. What is clearer is what $87 million does not do, which is set prices. A fund at that scale, concentrated in one country, is a participant in the secondaries market rather than the marginal buyer whose bid establishes where assets clear, which is why the close says something about appetite for a niche mandate and very little about pricing elsewhere in the market.
Disclosure across the week was uneven. Fidelity launched a $451 million private credit fund, a Kartesia CLO launch was sized at $459 million, and Barings filed a credit vehicle while Värde launched one, neither with a number attached. Sizes get published where a vehicle is simple enough to describe in one sentence, which suggests the gap widens as the structure gets harder to price.
No lead buyer named
Sun Capital's Anderson Global vehicle is the firm's second continuation vehicle of 2026, and it hands Fund VIII LPs a liquidity option or a roll. Neither its size nor its price was published, and no lead buyer was identified. That is the whole of what the reporting records: a close, a choice for existing investors, and silence on the terms.
Two continuation vehicles in a single year suggests a repeatable process at Sun Capital rather than a one-off exercise, the kind of program that over time would generate its own set of comparables. The terms and outcome of the first vehicle are not in the reporting, so no such set exists to point to yet.
The unnamed buyer is the more consequential of the two omissions. Whether an outside party paid a premium, a discount or something in between bears on whether rolling beats taking liquidity, and nothing published supplies that reference. In a process where an LP is choosing between two versions of the same portfolio, a third party's price is the only outside opinion available, and none was named.
Asset-level marks would be the second reference point, and the week's continuation vehicles closed without them. Take away the buyer's price and the marks and a rolling LP is left weighing the GP's account of the portfolio against an offer, with nothing on the public record that would let an outsider reconstruct the level at which the deal cleared. The choice stays open to Fund VIII LPs; the evidence for making it was not published.
An LP in that position still has the fund's own valuation work, its statements and whatever mark its auditor signed off on, and none of that appears in the reporting either. What remains visible is the shape of the choice, which throws more weight onto the GP's account than a deal with a published price and a named buyer would.
Two different things could be true at once, and the distinction is worth keeping straight before an undisclosed price gets read as a warning. A GP-led process can be run with full marks and full disclosure to the investors asked to decide, while the public record shows nothing at all. Nothing in the reporting indicates the first is not the case; it indicates only that terms were not reported.
Fund VIII LPs are the ones with a decision in front of them, and they have the two options without the terms behind either: no size for the vehicle they would be rolling into, no valuation for the assets it holds, and no word on what happens to the liquidity option if they decline it.
One published price does not build a benchmark on its own; a run of them would. A week of continuation vehicle closes without prices leaves allocators exactly where they were, with no reference level to carry into the next deal, and it leaves the outside reading of those assets to whoever is willing to guess.
€2 billion in the conditional
Reach Capital's William Barrett put GP-led budgets of €1bn a year for CDPQ and €1bn a year for Allianz into circulation through a published extract that reports them as hypothetical rather than announced. Taken together they would add €2 billion of annual GP-led demand, a volume described in the conditional tense, in a week when the one actual secondaries close came to $87 million. The reporting offers no indication of timing or likelihood.
A floated budget still says something about where large allocators are being pitched, even though it commits nothing and prices nothing. The extract is explicit that these are not announced budgets, which is the right way to hold them: as a sketch of what a programmatic GP-led allocation would look like, with the decision still sitting with the allocators rather than in the extract.
The distinction matters more than the arithmetic. A closed vehicle is a transaction with a date and a set of investors; a standing budget turns a run of one-off deals into a program, so supply stops waiting on a fresh buyer for every transaction. If either allocator pre-approved €1bn a year, GP-led volume would have demand sitting behind it before the assets were chosen. Whether either has agreed to anything of the kind is not in the reporting.
The week's figures also do not rank against one another, and precision here is worth the trouble. A closed fund's committed capital, a credit vehicle's size and an annual allocation budget are three different units, and only the $87 million is a secondaries fund with money committed and a number attached.
The disclosures worth watching are narrow and specific: a price or a lead buyer for Anderson Global surfacing in a later filing, or one of the €1bn budgets becoming an announced allocation rather than a floated one. Fund VIII LPs will decide before either appears, weighing an offer to take liquidity or roll with no published price attached to either side.
Take away the buyer's price and the marks and a rolling LP is left weighing the GP's account of the portfolio against an offer
Save this analysis and keep the funds you follow together in My Desk.
Sign in to save articles or follow funds.