A €1.2bn credit CV has no public benchmark. The terms are the price.
Credit's arrival in the GP-led market moves the pricing question off published comps and onto covenants, rollover terms and one lead buyer's underwriting.
The second Bridgepoint-Pantheon GP-led in two days carries a loan book rather than a business, which is why it lands without the one thing every equity rollover this week had: a number to argue about. Pantheon led a €1.2 billion continuation for Bridgepoint Credit, and PWD's tracking describes the underlying portfolio as an illiquid credit book with no public benchmark. The €1.2 billion fixes the size of the trade and nothing else; the price is left to the terms, and for now the terms are the price.
Set the week's GP-leds beside one another and the ordinariness is loud. Kelso's $510 million continuation for a Utah mechanical, electrical and plumbing contractor is the middle market's plain face, a deal in which the rollover, the fees and the covenants decide whether the exit worked. Gainline Capital Partners rolled Core Health & Fitness into a StepStone-led single-asset vehicle that hands existing LPs a liquidity option while adding fresh capital to fund the fitness equipment maker's expansion, and neither produced a pricing event. The headline figure on a continuation vehicle has stopped being the interesting number; the interesting number now sits inside the documents.
Equity at least has something to argue with. HarbourVest's data showing global buyout returns turned negative in the first quarter handed secondary desks a public print, and Carrick's $255 million Saviynt rollover, marked at 11x, is the trade that now has to answer to it. A software mark that rich, in a quarter when buyouts lost value, is contestable in a way an unbenchmarked mark is not: a buyer can point at the print, a seller can argue about what the print covers, and both sides are arguing about a published number. That same print arms buyers bidding software-heavy funds, a property only the equity half of the market currently enjoys.
| Deal | Asset | Lead | Price disclosed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgepoint Credit €1.2bn continuation | Illiquid credit book | Pantheon | No |
| Kelso $510m continuation | Utah mechanical, electrical and plumbing contractor | Not disclosed | No |
| Gainline / Core Health & Fitness | Fitness equipment maker, single asset | StepStone | No |
| Carrick / Saviynt | Software | Not disclosed | 11x |
A credit book offers no such handle. What it offers is the documentation: the coupon, the seniority, the covenant package, the maturity of each position, and the sponsor's marks on loans that do not trade. A price has to be assembled out of those, borrower by borrower, and the number that comes out is less a comparison to anything than an underwriting judgment stated as a figure. There is no index to hide behind and no index to blame when the mark looks wrong a year later, which is precisely why the diligence, and not the headline, is what is actually being sold here.
Underwriting takes the place of a comp
Who can bid changes with that. Pricing an equity CV against a public benchmark is comparative work a wide field of buyers can do, because the reference is published and everyone works from the same page. Pricing a credit book is underwriting: someone has to read loan documents, form a view on each borrower's ability to pay, and decide what the sponsor's marks are worth against cash flows that may or may not arrive on schedule. Fewer firms will take that on, they will take longer over it, and their bids will scatter more widely. The reasonable expectation is that credit GP-leds settle into a lead-buyer market priced on diligence capacity and repeat relationships rather than the wide auctions equity CVs now attract.
The week's structures point the same way. Gainline's Core Health vehicle is single-asset, concentrating the entire pricing question on one company's mark and one management team's plan; a credit book the size of Bridgepoint's spreads that question across a portfolio, diversifying the risk and multiplying the work because every loan in the book is its own argument.
The mark, not the multiple, is the whole argument in credit. Whether the Bridgepoint Credit book rolled at par, at a discount or at a premium has not been made public, and in an illiquid loan portfolio even the reference point is a sponsor's estimate rather than a traded level. Buyers price that uncertainty into what they bid; what remains open is how much they are charging for it, and whether the charge shows up as a lower rollover mark for the LPs who stay or as tighter structural protection written for their benefit.
For an LP deciding whether to roll or take the cash, the headline figure is the least useful number in the package. That LP is being asked to keep an asset whose mark it cannot independently test, in exchange for terms it can read; rollover, fees and covenants carry more weight in a credit vehicle than in an equity one, because in an illiquid loan book they are the only discipline available. An LP rolling into the Bridgepoint Credit vehicle should be getting better protection than the holder of a software rollover, not the same. Giving up a mark you can check is a real cost, and if the terms come back looking like last week's equity deals, the credit LPs will have paid that cost for nothing.
Giving up a mark you can check is a real cost, and if the terms come back looking like last week's equity deals, the credit LPs will have paid that cost for nothing.
There is a second problem with having no comp, and it concerns who blinks first. Without a public reference, the sponsor's mark is the opening number, and the buyer's only real counter is to walk — expensive after diligence has been paid for, and expensive again in a market where the next credit book may not surface for months. None of that means buyers capitulate; it means the negotiation is bilateral in a way equity pricing no longer is, and the terms have to carry the weight a benchmark would otherwise bear.
Pantheon's own position is the other half of the story. Leading two Bridgepoint deals in two days reads less like sampling a market than like taking a stake in one sponsor's book, and the second deal gets underwritten with whatever the first one taught. A lead buyer with two transactions alongside the same sponsor has more riding on getting the marks right than a one-off bidder does. None of that guarantees a fair price; it does mean that in a deal with no benchmark, the lead's name is the closest substitute for one, and the next credit CV will be argued about by reference to this one.
The money arrived before the pricing did
Capital is not what the credit market is short of. TrueBridge more than doubled its venture secondaries fund to $508 million, raising money for the least observable corner of the secondaries market, where no benchmark exists at all and discounts are struck deal by deal. That pool will be judged on whether it can keep deploying at disciplined discounts as more capital competes for the same positions; if discounts narrow as the fund scales, the returns have to come from selection rather than from the discount itself, which is a harder business than the fundraising line implies.
Put that beside a €1.2 billion credit continuation and the pattern is plain: capital exists for loan books, equity books and venture stakes, but the pricing machinery is still being assembled, publicly on the equity side and behind closed doors in credit.
That split will not hold indefinitely. Equity CVs now answer to a published negative print and an 11x software rollover that has to be squared with it; credit CVs answer to a lead buyer's underwriting and a covenant package. One is priced by numbers, the other by documents, and as secondaries push out of equity and into credit, the market is moving toward the asset class with the thinner pricing infrastructure. If the Bridgepoint Credit book prices well, credit is where the next stretch of the market's growth sits; if it prices on terms that mirror equity deals, LP resistance will be slow and quiet, and credit GP-leds will stay a relationship business for longer than the fundraising suggests.
The €1.2 billion is not the number to watch. What matters is how many of Bridgepoint Credit's existing LPs elect to roll, and whether the fees and covenants surface in enough detail for the next lead buyer to price a different credit book against them. Equity got its benchmark from a quarterly return print anyone can read; credit has to build one from disclosed deals, and the back-to-back Bridgepoint transactions are the most informative entries available right now.